GDA President Dr. Marshall Mann

Marshall Mann, DDS, is the 145th Georgia Dental Association president. Dr. Mann is a native of Rome, Georgia, and attended Darlington School prior to completing his secondary education at Culver Military Academy in Culver, Indiana. His undergraduate studies were at Mercer University in Macon and upon graduation he took a teaching position in the Houston County (Georgia) School System. He attended the Emory University School of Dentistry and received his DDS degree in 1979, after which he returned to Rome and opened a practice in general dentistry. In 1990 Dr. Russell Ragsdale, a former GDA President, joined the practice and worked at the office until he passed away in 1998. Dr. Jason Oyler purchased Dr. Mann’s practice in 2004. 

GDA State Officers

Serving with President Mann for 2013-14 are President Elect Doug Torbush of Conyers, Vice President Greg Goggans of Douglas, Secretary / Treasurer Jim Hall of Macon, and Editor David Bradberry of Marietta.

House of Delegates

The House of Delegates is supreme governing body of the Georgia Dental Association. Voting members are delegates or alternate delegates from each district dental society and a student representative from each dental school in the state. Non-voting members are the members of the Board of Trustees, the ADA Delegation Committee, the Parliamentarian, the Sergeant-at-Arms, and Speaker Emeritus.

GDA Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is comprised of the five state officers, seven district presidents-elect, and seven district trustees. The Board has the authority to act for the House of Delegates and to conduct the business of the GDA in an official capacity during intervals between House meetings. Board actions shall be presented to the House for ratification at the session immediately following their enactment, provided a minimum of one week has passed. Matters requiring timely action, but exempt from presentation to the House due to the one-week notice, will be presented in resolution form by the President to the House. Actions of the Board may be affirmed or rejected by the House.